RAYNE, LOUISIANA HISTORY

Rayne and Trains. When the railroad came to the coastal prairie in the 1800s, our community was called Pouppeville. But we changed our name to Rayne, to honor the engineer who laid the tracks.

Rayne and frogs go way back, too. In the 1900s, three Parisians - Jacques Weil and his brothers, operated a profitable export business shipping our local delicacy - frog legs - to restaurants all over the country.

Rayne will always be unique. Check out St. Joseph Cemetery, listed in Ripley’s Believe it or Not! as the only cemetery in the United States facing north-south.

Rayne is still hopping. Come see for yourself!

Download a copy of the History of Rayne.

  • In the 1900s, Rayne was a
    leading producer of eggs, sweet potatoes, cotton, and of course, frogs.
  • Rayne holds the all-time
    LA snowfall record - 24 inches
    on February 14 & 15, 1895.
  • Rayne once had a semi-pro
    black baseball team known
    as the Blue Eagles.
  • The Rayne high school six-man football team won the state championship in 1944.
  • In 1908, the town passed
    an ordinance requiring all
    property owners to put down
    plank sidewalks.
  • In 1946, the population of Rayne grew enough that the State Legislature declared
    it a city.
X Rotate